Matrimonial Help Line +91 7024333987


Diocese of Raipur


The name of the Archbishop of Raipur is Most Rev. Victor Henry Thakur.

Archdiocese of Raipur is situated at the Central India, comprising of 14 Districts out of the 27 of the State of Chhattisgarh but has a small Catholic Population. It was established a Prefecture in 1964 and a Diocese in 1973. It consists of the Civil Districts of Kabirdham (Kawardha), Rajnandgaon, Balod, Durg, Bemetara, Dhamtari, Gariaband, Raipur, Mahasamund, Bilaspur, Mungeli,Korba, Janjgir-Champa. The languages spoken are Hindi, Chhattisgarhi, Oriya, Telgu, Tamil and Malayalam. There are good number of Parishes and Mission Stations in the rural areas.

Most Rev. Victor Henry Thakur


Statistical Information
Area 60,819 Sq. Kms
Total Population 1,95,38,244
Catholics 0.42% (47,481)
Hindu 90%
Muslim 6.58%
Non-Catholic Christians  0.6%
Sikh  0.6%
Buddhist  0.5%
Others  1.3%
Types of People Gonds, Adivasis, Satnamis, Oriyas, Telgus, a small group of people of Tamil origin, Keralites, and Anglo-Indians
Parishes & Stations  71
Sub-Stations  118
Congregations of Sisters 28
Number of Convents 66
Diocesan Priests 85
Religious Priests  84
Religious Brothers 01
Diocesan Seminarians text
Theology 03
Spirituality 00
Regency  01
Philosophy 05
Minor Seminary 18
Religious Sisters 545
Catechists 108
Pastoral Centre 01
Provincialates 04
Retreat Houses 03
Novitiate Houses 03
Diocesan Minor Seminary 01
Colleges 02
Primary Schools 29
Secondary Schools 19
Higher Secondary Schools 12
Hospitals 09
Dispensaries 37
Leprosaria 03
Homes for the Disabled 03
Orphanages 05
Village S. Welfare Centres 22
Formation Houses  07
Boardings for School Goers 17
Hostel for College Girls 05
Technical Schools 04
Retired Priests' Home 01
Social Welfare Trg. Centres 03